top of page
Search

The beginning of something life-changing…

I have mentioned before that I love guidelines. I love having a list and checking it off as I go. I am an overachiever and dedicated to doing things correctly. However, I’m learning that "correctly" may not always mean quality or produce growth. I feel a shift beginning in my mindset. Are lists just a way to make us feel accomplished? Have we reached our true potential when that list is complete?


After the introduction to the first courses in the ADL program, I left with a feeling of it being a bit unorganized and chaotic. I can see now that was fully intentional and organized perfectly to bring that stirring of the mind. I am beginning to embrace this, and I like what I am seeing.


Now, halfway through the first two courses of my ADL Master’s degree program, I see changes not only in my academic knowledge but in my daily life, in my parenting style, marriage, friendships, and in myself. It is mind-boggling that something as simple as taking away the strict parameters in learning can change everything so instantly. I am learning that not everything needs a list. There isn’t an “end all be all” to any of these areas. It can be fluid, and fluidity is where change happens.


I am learning that I am not only an educator. I am a learner. I am learning. I am changing. I am uniquely myself, and that is a good thing. I will reach towards and try to meet my full potential in all areas of life.




15 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page