top of page
Search

Innovation that Sticks

Being comfortable with the uncomfortable is something that is making more sense to me the further we move into the ADL program. My first classes were highly uncomfortable. I did not like that I was not provided with exact requirements or that I was given the freedom to learn in whatever way I wanted. It was foreign and new to me. The funny thing is the further I move along in the program, the more confident I feel and the more I appreciate what I have to offer as an educator. I am learning that sitting in discomfort creates the opportunity for growth. It provides the needed environment for innovation and development to surface. If we are always comfortable, always doing the same thing, we will never improve!


Being in collaboration groups in ADL has been the best experience of learning for me to date. In the ADL environment, without harsh boundaries, but with guidelines, we are working together in a way that builds understanding and are voluntarily supporting each other much more readily than in traditional settings. In my past experiences, classes with groups were mostly negative experiences. This is a perfect example of how a concept that is meant to promote learning can stunt growth if not applied effectively. I can see now that group work and collaboration was not the negative aspect, but it was the application of them. It is crucial that we take the time to provide professional learning for our educators that is effective. Where they learn and can model for their learners. In the video “Innovation that Sticks” (2016), the teachers discuss the number one thing that helped them to embrace change was team teaching and having the support of others. It ignited their curiosity, energy, and their interest.


The study on professional learning indicated that the US has had progress in some areas like beginning teacher mentoring but lacked in areas of professional development structures that support sustained teacher learning (Darling-Hammond et al., 2009). The teachers in the video talked about how this was the case, that thinking about what the students need and where they are coming from, then applying that with educators was key. Educators need to be given the time to take risks, test things out with students, and move their own learning forward (Innovation That Sticks Case Study - OCSB: Risk Taking, 2016). The way we model and implement is critical to success.


This gives a lot of insight into my innovation plan implementation. Comparing the difference between my experience in a traditional undergrad program with technology and “group work” to grad school with the same is a world of difference. I am enjoying this program, finding support with my groups, and feeling empowered and more confident as an educator and leader. In undergrad, I felt frustrated and tired, and I was ready to be done. It all felt like busy work where I was not retaining anything. ADL feels life-changing. I will use what I am learning forever as an educator and as a leader. It is insightful that the same concepts were being applied by my professors in both programs, but the one that included COVA+CSLE created lifelong change.


When it comes to our innovation plans, the key is to not just focus on completing them but on setting up an environment where educators are prepared and motivated to support the learners. Giving learners the opportunity to explore and create their own path will help them to implement the plan with full success. The goal is to develop learners that realize the potential in lifelong learning and are self-motivated to evolve and grow throughout life.

References

Darling-Hammond, L., Chung Wei, R., Andree, A., Richardson, N., & Orphanos, S. (2009, February). Professional Learning in the Learning Profession: A Status Report on Teacher Development in the United States and Abroad. https://learningforward.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/08/status-of-professional-learning-phase-1.pdf

Innovation That Sticks Case Study - OCSB: Risk Taking. (2016, May 19). Www.youtube.com. https://youtu.be/UAMcjUzdVnE



3 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page