top of page
Search

Grow through what you go through...

Updated: Dec 8, 2021

I have done a lot of reflecting lately on the growth I have made in my first eight weeks of the ADL program. My mindset has shifted in all areas of my life. My husband, David, and I have had many discussions recently about our experiences with communication and growth in the past 24 years of our marriage. We have also discussed areas of growth we can still work towards for the future.


In regards to communication, just by applying some of the growth mindset skills I am learning, we are beginning to communicate more effectively than ever. We have made progress in areas of our marriage, and parenting, that we have previously had difficulty in.


One thing that we have learned that has held us back in most areas of our personal lives and careers in the past is the feeling of not wanting to be uncomfortable. When we, or most people for that matter, reach a place of discomfort, we have the desire to run, fight, hide, or do anything we can to remove that feeling from our lives and get back to a state of comfort.


But does that help in the long run? I am learning the key to true success and growth is:


Be comfortable being uncomfortable!


Now, when I begin to feel uncomfortable, I resist the urge to fix things. I sit in that discomfort and assess why I am feeling the way I am. What is making me uncomfortable? What can I do to fix the underlying issue and overcome it? The progress I am seeing in all areas of my life is remarkable.


A few days ago, I was shopping in TJMaxx, browsing through the clearance aisle. I saw the sign in the picture below. It was perfect! I bought it, took it home, and now it is hanging on the wall for our family to use. "Grow through what you go through...." says it all.


This is a magnetic sign. We are aiming to use this similarly to a dream board, but instead, a growth board. Anything we go through is acceptable to add to the board. The good, the bad, the ugly. Ever-changing as we change and life changes.


I have made a decision to pay close attention to what I am going through from now on. To sit in it, take it all in no matter how difficult, and continue to experience true growth in all areas of my life.




24 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page