top of page
Search

5302 - Benefit of Networking

Updated: Mar 10, 2022

Professional Learning Networks


I have always used Facebook as my main means of networking with other professionals in my field. Since I have been working in the online teacher community, in a global capacity, for the last 5+yrs, it is easier to find professional learning communities online. We do have internal workshops and opportunities for collaboration also that I frequently take part in. We have almost 100k teachers in our community and many have begun groups specific to different areas of online ESL teaching on Facebook.


An example of the groups I am part of that are company-specific:


· Virtual Teaching Moms

· Everything ESL for global teachers

· 5 Apple Teachers

· Online Props and Rewards

· Teacher Lesson Bank Support

· Coach Corner

· Online Trainers

· Mock Class Mentors

· Happy Hour for Mentors


All of these channels are areas where we can discuss and share with others for our specific organization. I am part of two groups that provide support to new incoming online teachers also to help them get established in the online world. These groups are great because they give me the opportunity as an online trainer and mentor to help new teachers start off on the right foot. The variety of boards I am a part of allows me to contribute and consume in many unique ways for a full learning experience.


I am part of a few boards for my local school district and neighboring school district where I completed my student teaching years ago to keep up to date on the local policy and network with local teachers also.


Outside of my workplace boards and local boards, I have not had the opportunity to join many PLNs. I recently began to look for opportunities and have started to join the free boards listed in another classmate’s chart of PLNs that she has found. Researching through her list, I have joined a few of the following with plans to join others soon. This list provides Facebook Groups, websites, blogs, and podcasts that can be useful for virtual educators and give a place to collaborate and network.


Another site I found with good resources for my career in ESL is on the TESOL site:


The current Facebook groups that I frequent for my organization provide a safe place to share and grow together as online educators. While I do participate in helping new educators as they come into the field, most of what I have done is in consumption for my own benefit. As I venture out to the resources above, I am realizing that there are many avenues to pursue in regard to networking that will benefit me in my career but also areas that I can contribute more to others. My plan is to continue to build a list of PLNs that I can join in all areas of education and learning. I hope to balance the level of contribution and consumption that I am having in all PLNs. This is just the beginning of my journey in professional and personal learning networks. I am looking forward to furthering my networks to advance my knowledge in of key ideas in the field of online education.



25 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page