top of page
Search

5313 & 5389 - Contribution to Learning

Updated: May 6, 2022

This is my third 8-week session in the ADL program. 5313 and 5389 were my fifth and sixth classes. I am feeling more comfortable and have grown tremendously through the courses. I have found areas of personal growth, along with understanding areas of improvement, to effectively apply professional learning. I feel I have the understanding needed to create significant learning environments for all learners that I have the pleasure of interacting with in the future. I have improved in many areas but have also identified many areas for further growth. I have spent time developing strategies to ensure that I will continue on the path of learning and growth through the rest of this program and beyond.


The grades I am giving myself for the classes are as follows:


5313: 95%


5389: 95%



In this course, I learned more about myself as a learner. I feel confident in creating significant learning environments with opportunities for authentic experiences more than before. I felt it was helpful to use the two different types of plans to work through my professional learning ideas and assess the effectiveness and benefit for all learners. The skills I learned will be useful not only in my innovation plan but in all areas of planning in the future.


I chose the score above based on my contributions and scoring in past classes. I did not score myself as high this session due to being a bit less active in discussions and not being able to attend most class meetings. I did, however, watch the class videos and keep up with class information and readings. Even though I was not as active as in past sessions, I do feel as though I contributed to chats and discussions on a regular basis and improved in my ability to work past frustrations and apply concepts effectively.



This course allowed me to understand the necessity of effective professional development. I was able to assess current methods and look for areas of improvement. I know the why, the what, and the how and understand the principles of effective professional development and how to apply them when planning to support all learners. This class was helpful in learning the importance of detailed development


I chose the same score for 5389 as I did for 5313 because I feel I contributed equally in all areas for both classes. I removed a point or two from what I scored myself in previous sessions due to the fact that I was not as present in class meetings or quite as diligent about class readings. While not exactly where I wanted to be, I do feel as though I put in a good effort and applied the skills effectively.


Key Contributions:

· Checked GroupMe frequently to share in discussions and support classmates

· Provided feedforward on GroupMe and on discussion boards

· Reflected on feedforward and made revisions to ePortfolio and projects based on suggestions of classmates and professors

· Attended or watched all class meetings for both 5313/5389

· Voluntarily researched sources outside of course suggestions to share

· Met all deadlines in course calendars for both 5313/5389

· Checked grades and emails and responded to all in a timely manner

· Created Google docs with resources for assignments and shared in GroupMe

· Shared eP and personal info to support new learners in the ADL program


Supporting Contributions:

· Took a shared leadership role in our core group with Karin Stateler and Stephen Lewis

· Reached out to classmates and offered support as needed

· Reviewed and provided feedforward for links that were shared in larger GroupMe (Mamta, Andrei, Chastity, Kelven, Illeana, Erika, Pedro, Rachel, Jasmin, Andrea, Barry, Karin, Stephen, Danielle, Jackie, Jacob, Veronica)


Areas for Improvement:

· Attend more class meetings live next session

· Spend more time with class readings

· Link DB posts to resources outside of class materials more

· Share more original ideas and increase vulnerability


I am happy with my progress during this eight-week session, but I do have areas in that I can improve. I would like to take more time to cover class readings in the next session. I looked at all of the assigned readings but did not set aside as much time as I would have liked to thoroughly cover them. I have saved them in a document that I plan to go back to and would like to add them to my annotated bibliography for easy access in the future. In addition to this, I would like to research further outside of class materials for resources I could share to create a deeper understanding of concepts. I plan to create more time to attend live meetings next eight weeks. During this session, it was difficult to make it to meetings on the evenings they were scheduled, and I noticed a difference in my connection with classmates. Sharing in the live discussions and meetings was helpful and created a sense of deepened collaboration and connection that was beneficial to learning. I would like to apply what I have learned in the program to not keep all of my ideas hidden away but to take a risk and share them with others. I plan to continue improving my vulnerability and risk-taking when it comes to collaboration.


Stephen Lewis and Karin Stateler have been my main collaboration group in the ADL program since the first session. I have learned and grown through the interaction with our group. They are always there, seven days a week, day or night, for helping, sharing, and general discussion during and between our sessions. I cannot say enough about their growth in this program also. I have had the pleasure of sharing their experiences of applying our learnings in their careers and personal lives. We have shared not only successes but difficulties. We have grown together tremendously in the last 3 sessions. I am so thankful to be able to work with them. They continue to be vulnerable and have exemplified creating a significant learning environment for authentic learning experiences and have pushed me out of my comfort zone to improve. I look forward to continuing to work in our group throughout the rest of the program.


In this session, I have grown in many areas and am slowly moving in the direction I want to be in my career and as a leader that creates change in my organization. 5313 and 5389 have prepared me to create significant learning environments and professional learning that will benefit all in my organization. I will carry the learning from these classes with me to ensure that I am always intentional about the processes I use when dealing with learners.



20 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page