top of page
Search

5305 Disruptive Innovation: Collaborative Discussion

The information shared in the discussion board video links helped me to dive into understanding disruptive innovation and blended learning. The purposes of each became abundantly clear as I followed the links. I caught myself skipping back to listen again when things hit home, jotting notes like crazy throughout. One of the first things that stuck out to me came from the video Technology as a Disruptive Force in Education. Clayton Christensen discusses the need to commoditize our faculty. It opened my eyes to one of the most important benefits of technology in the classroom. Students may have good, or good enough, in their classroom teachers, but the internet provides a way for all students to have the very best at their fingertips. It makes "the best" accessible to all, no matter their location or circumstances. So great!

Since my path is more adult education and training-centered, I wanted to read more outside of the links to make those connections. I found this Forbes article, written by Michael B. Horn, an author of our class text, "Blended." It talks about commoditizing teachers but not replacing them with tech. It makes a connection to the healthcare industry and discusses commoditizing expertise in all areas. It is an interesting read if you have the time!

The last link I watched was Sir Ken Robinson's Ted Talk Bring on the learning revolution!. One quote regarding education that I will take with me is when he said:


“We have to move to a model that is based more on principles of agriculture. We have to recognize that human flourishing is not a mechanical process, it's an organic process. And you cannot predict the outcome of human development. All you can do is, like a farmer, create the conditions under which they begin to flourish."

W.O.W. These words struck something in me!


When I began this course last week, I was terrified. I am a great student. I make A's and know exactly how to attack classwork. I jump in, print the schedule, highlight, make a plan, create a calendar, and know how to read and regurgitate information with precision to get that A. Last week, while going through Blackboard for my first two classes, I panicked. How can anyone do this? Where are the exact guidelines? Where are the papers I need to write? Where are the guardrails that I am so prepared to successfully stay within? I had massive fear and doubts. I had thoughts of quitting. I pushed past those and began to go through readings and videos. I read some of the recommended texts. I went through the shared e-Portfolios. I started to feel a bit more comfortable.

I am beginning to understand that this is something I have never experienced before, and that is why it is so scary to me. It is far out of my comfort zone. It is changing education from mechanical to agricultural. It is what is needed to produce growth. I am comfortable in a mechanical setting. However, even within my first week here, I have pushed beyond what I thought possible. I have learned that change is important, and discomfort is what brings that change. I still have my doubts, but I am excited about where this digital learning journey will take me. Instead of reform....being transformed. I am ready for the challenge. I think.


16 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page