top of page
Search

5305 Discussion: Want to Innovate?

Joi Ito says in his Ted Talk, “Education is what people do to you, and learning is what you do to yourself…”

This was interesting to put into thought because I know how to get an education, but do I know how to learn? I have not been a true learner in the past, but I am learning how to learn now. I catch myself often now questioning things that I do, making sure that I am on the path of true learning.


When he speaks of being a ‘nowist’ he challenges us to:

"Stop this notion that you need to plan everything you need to stock everything you need be so prepared and focus and being connected, always learning fully aware and super present.”


First off, I am going to need this class to stop calling me out! Haha! It has been extremely difficult for me to live in the ‘now’. I always need a plan, always think of the future, but this has caused me to lose so much of the present. I am held back by my insecurities and the pressure to not fail. I am going to challenge myself to be more of a ‘nowist’, to live in the moment….“building quickly and improving constantly, without waiting for permission or for proof that you have the right idea.”


Monique Markoff's said in her Ted Talk, “When our students sit down at the computer, do they believe the work they are doing will make a difference, will be valued?” She speaks on individualizing education and optimizing the pace of student learning, not only having technology in the classroom. Changing the way that we think of the use of technology and blended learning in the classroom is going to be the key to being successful. I believe there will be a lot of pushback to this in most educational environments. It is not comfortable and takes change. I hope that those of us going through these courses and creating our innovation plans can be the start of that change. Stirring the pot to disrupt and innovate.


3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page