top of page
Search

5304 - 4DX Whirlwind

When it comes to the “whirlwind”, I feel as though this is an area, I will need to focus the most attention. It is so easy to get caught up in the maintenance of everything, the day-to-day tasks that overwhelm us at times. Paying close attention to these “focus traps” and learning to say no to good ideas because “there will always be more good ideas than the capacity to execute” is something that I will need to learn to do (Four Disciplines of Execution Summary and User Guide, n.d.).

Reflecting on this discussion board, I remembered a past meeting with Dr. Grogan in which we were asked if we saw ourselves as a disrupter, scaler, or executor. I see myself as an executor. This is not because I don’t think I can be a scaler or disrupter, but because it is where I find the most strength. I love helping others and helping bring their ideas and goals to fruition is an area that I pride myself in. The reason I mention this is that having more of the mindset of an executor, I tend to look at everything that needs to be done. I take note of all areas that need to be fixed or completed to get the project done. The difficult part of this is trying to not get caught up in the small stuff. Loving to help others, I also don’t want anyone to feel that they are being neglected or not heard, so losing site of bigger, more important, goals (WIGs) can be easy. I believe that 4DX helps with this because finding the lead measures to keep the focus and formulating a plan with WIGs will help to keep focus where it needs to be. I was reading today and found a site with a book review of 4DX and it had comments on the relationship to the different people in an organization. It said, in regards to executors, “Because executing is a way of life for these folks, just learning that there is a more systematic and effective way to get things done is energizing to them” (Hammond, 2017). I am finding this to hold true for the way I feel about 4DX. Having a formula to keep me on track is exciting. Wrapping my mind around the exact concepts and applying them are not as easy, but I know once I get everything in line it will be a great way to succeed. My goal will be following the guidelines of 4DX closely to create a plan that keeps me, and the organization, on track to creating a change that sticks. Four Disciplines of Execution Summary and User Guide. (n.d.). https://www.scouting.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/09/4-Disciplines-of-Execution-Summary.pdf Hammond, B. (2017, March 30). Breaking Through the Whirlwind: Book Review of The 4 Disciplines of Execution. Isogo. https://isogostrong.com/strengthsfinder-book-review-four-disciplines-execution/






9 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page