top of page
Search

5303 Discussion - Why Use an E-Portfolio?

Reading 41 Benefits of an ePortfolio, I learned the ‘why.' of ePortfolios. I enjoyed that it shows not only the benefits for students but in addition educators and employees.


As I have mentioned in previous posts, when beginning these courses, I had doubts about the importance or overall usefulness of an ePortfolio. I am learning that it is a valuable resource of evidence of not only what you have learned but the journey of getting there.


I love the comparison to show & tell sessions of primary school. What I loved so much about that as a child was that you got to share parts of yourself with others, things that you found important. You thought about it days beforehand, picking just the right thing to take in. Your classmates were attentive and interested in what you had to show. I was always excited to see what my classmates had brought in. The teacher allowed questions, and you were able to share your knowledge. I remember trying to think of good questions to ask others too. Children benefit so much more than just bringing in an object in these sessions. Why do we lose that as we get older? An ePortfolio is a great way to continue that learning and growing process.


In Reflection4Learning, I read the following:


“Portfolios provide a powerful environment in which students can collect and organize the artifacts that result from engaging in these challenging, real-life tasks, and write the reflections through which students draw meaning. Part of the reflective process is to have students tell stories about their experiences which brain research shows can help students embed these experiences into their long term memory.”


This is what I mean when I say it is a wonderful way to continue that process. Your ePortfolio turns into your adult “show and tell." It brings meaning and a new understanding to you and that becomes evident to anyone that takes a step into your ever-developing ePortfolio journey.


3 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page