top of page
Search

5303 Creating a Culture of Helpfulness & Growth Mindset

I have thoroughly enjoyed the materials in this course so far. I find myself self-assessing, after reading or watching, for areas of growth and ways I can challenge myself to improve.

Margaret Heffernan: Why it's time to forget the pecking order at work was the video that resonated most with me. I paused it at times to take a moment to think about the things she was saying. The first thing that hit home for me was when she discussed that success is frequently achieved only by choosing the best and brightest. However, giving all resources and power to a small few only produces aggression, disfunction, and waste, and we should not suppress the productivity of "the rest." That hit home! I have been in workplaces where this was the case, and it always led to burnout of employees. Most felt underappreciated and unmotivated. Why even try?


This concept has been the norm for so long that I just accepted it as the way it was in almost any corporate setting and something that I would need to work around. Listening to the reasoning behind why having 'super chickens' doesn't work, I had insight into how I can apply the growth mindset into my future when training educators and move to create change in the organization as a whole.


When she spoke of the best groups having social sensitivity and empathy and giving equal time to each other, I thought of my current workgroup and how it has differed from any I have worked with before. My co-workers are kind, thoughtful, and caring. However, at times, they are challenging. When she said, "Conflict is frequent because candor is safe.", I thought, "Yes! That is it!". We have created a place that is safe to be honest with each other. We challenge each other, but we believe that everyone has something to give the team, and feedback, or feedforward, is welcomed and appreciated. I did a lot of reflecting on my experience with work, and I feel lucky to have the team that I do now.


Developing a Growth Mindset with Carol Dweck allowed me to reflect on my way of thinking in regards to 'now' vs. 'yet.' I used to be a 'now' thinker. I gave up much more quickly when things became challenging. I credit my work team now for becoming a 'yet' thinker. I am proud of the progress I have made in this area, and I look forward to being able to help others gain insight. I want to challenge their way of thinking and educate them to develop a growth mindset.


Today, I am a bit of both. I am still a work in progress, but I am willing to learn and motivated to grow!


12 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page